The Chakras

The Chakras are a system of invisible energetic centers that are thought to span the the spinal cord. Most often, we identify seven chakras that appear at the intersection of Ida, Pingala, and Shushumna. These names refer to Nadis, or energetic meridians that snake up the spinal cord, according to the Kundalini tradition. Each chakra corresponds with unique qualities and balancing stones. In theory, everything is essentially molecules moving at different speeds. Therefore, each crystal has a different frequency, often depending on color, meaning a unique ability to heal through harmonizing one’s energy. Read more about each chakra below.


Muladhara – Root Chakra

  • Color: Red or Black
  • Element: earth
  • Location: Perineum (base of the spine)
  • Associations: survival – food, water, shelter
  • Overstimulation – occurs when basic needs are not met, results in adrenal glands releasing adrenaline and cortisol, creating sensations of anxiety
  • Understimulation – creates a sense of depression
  • Balance – security and contentment, ability to move beyond a primitive state of decision-making and up the chakras
  • Astrological signs: Scoripio, Capricorn, and Taurus
  • Exercises: Mula Banda, contraction of the perineum (Kegel)
  • Mantra sound: LAM (pronounced LAM)
  • Balancing stones: Red Jasper, Garnet, Hematite, Smoky Quartz, Black Onyx, and other red or black stones

Svadisthana – Sacral Chakra

  • Color: Orange
  • Element: water
  • Location: Sacrum/Lower abdomen (reproductive organs)
  • Associations: Intimacy/reproduction
  • Overstimulation – sexual activity beyond required need
  • Understimulation – obsession, attachment, manipulation, emotional dependence, lack of boundaries, excessive sensitivity
  • Balance – healthy, sustainable relationships that are fulfilling
  • Astrological signs: Scoripio, Cancer, and Virgo
  • Exercises: Uddiyana Banda, engagement of the lower abdominals; Breath of Fire and Kapalabhati breathing
  • Mantra sound: VAM (pronounced vang)
  • Balancing stones: Amber, Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Tiger Eye, Sunstone, and other orange stones

Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra – meaning “city of jewels”

  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: fire
  • Location: Solar Plexus (just above the navel)
  • Associations: Passion, drive, fire, deep concentration
  • Overstimulation – dominating, competitive, compulsive, and stubborn behavior
  • Understimulation – feeling introverted, passive, submissive, lacking self-confidence, misdirecting energy onto oneself
  • Balance – passion, courage, drive, and fulfillment of life’s purpose
  • Astrological signs: Scoripio and Cancer
  • Exercises: Engagement of the upper abdominals, BodyRolling, planking, and tapas, the creation of internal heat through breath
  • Mantra sound: RAM (pronounced rang)
  • Balancing stones: Yellow Jade, Yellow Jasper, Citrine, and other yellow stones

Anahata – Heart Chakra – meaning “unstruck”

  • Color: Green or Pink
  • Element: Air
  • Location: Heart Center (center of the chest rather than the heart organ)
  • Associations: Compassion, love, understanding, and intuitive intelligence
  • Overstimulation – jealousy, lonliness
  • Understimulation – inability to feel compassion, empathy, or love
  • Balance – compassion, empathy, sympathy, self-love, love for others, peace, understanding, acceptance, gratitude, contentment, and oneness
  • Astrological signs: Cancer, Libra, and Sagittarius
  • Exercises: Heart openers (backbends) such as Anahatasana
  • Mantra sound: YAM (pronounced yang)
  • Balancing stones: Amazonite, Emerald, Chrysoprase, Aventurine, Jade, Green Calcite, Peridot, and other green stones

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra

  • Color: Light Blue
  • Element:
  • Location: Throat
  • Associations: expression and comprehension through verbal, nonverbal and written forms of communication
  • Overstimulation – talking too much or inappropriately; misinterpreting
  • Understimulation – loss for words or lack of ability to communicate
  • Balance – effective communication and compassionate listening/interpretation
  • Astrological signs: Gemini and Aquarius
  • Exercises: Heart openers (backbends) such as Anahatasana
  • Mantra sound: HAM (pronounced hang)
  • Balancing stones: Amazonite, Blue Jade, Turquoise, and other light blue stones.

Ajna – Third Eye Chakra

  • Color: Indigo
  • Element: aether
  • Location: Pineal Gland (Third Eye)
  • Associations: Visualization, creativity, predicting the future
  • Overstimulation – nightmares, excessive fantasizing and skepticism
  • Understimulation – blocked ability for clear thought, denial, and the inability to see alternatives
  • Balance – wisdom, broadened perspectives, clear vision of the future
  • Astrological signs: Pisces and Sagittarius
  • Exercises: Conscious meditation (dhyana)
  • Mantra sound: OM (pronounced aum)
  • Balancing stones: Lapis Lazuli, Blue Chrysocholla, Dragon Veins Agate, and other deep blue stones

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra

  • Color: Violet or White/Silver
  • Element: aether
  • Location: Crown of the Head
  • Associations: Understanding, oneness
  • Overstimulation – Heightened ego, false sense of spirituality, migraine headaches
  • Understimulation – Introversion, lack of joy
  • Balance – wisdom, broadened perspectives, clear vision of the future
  • Astrological signs: Aquarius and Gemini
  • Exercises: Samadhi (oneness) achieved through conscious meditation (dhyana)
  • Mantra sound: OM (pronounced aum
  • Balancing stones: Amethyst, Flourite, Dragon Veins Agate, and other purple stones